

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, November 20, 2024 Dalton Woods Auditorium, Coast and Environment

Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: P=Present
Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance
Daniel Tirone	President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Inessa Bazayev	Past President	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Parampreet Singh	Vice President	Science	A
Michelle Osborn	Secretary	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р
Kenneth Lopata	Member-at-Large	Science	Р
Carmela Mattza	Member-at-Large	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	A	Giulio Mariotti	Coast and Environment	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	Р	Sarah Mathews	Science	Р
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	Р	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Supratik Mukhopadhyay	Coast and Environment	Р
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	A
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	A
Christine Bruening	Art and Design	A	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Summer Chandler	Law Center	Alt- John Devlin	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Р	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	A

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Rebecca Christofferson	Veterinary Medicine	Alt- Seetherama Jois	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Charles Delzell	Science	Р	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Р
Ray Diamond	Law Center	Р	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	A
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	Р	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	A	Jennifer Scott	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	A	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Charles Goodman	Music and Dramatic Arts	Alt- Arie VandeWaa	Samuel Snow	Engineering	Р
Lauren Griffin	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alt- Jason Scimeca
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Phillip Sprunger	Science	A
Achim Herrmann	Science	Р	Casey Stannard	Agriculture	Alt- John Nyman
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	P	Min Su	Business	P
Catherine Jacquet	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Chao Sun	Engineering	Р
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Revati Kumar	Science	Р	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	A
Patty Lathan	Veterinary Medicine	Р	Bulent Unel	Business	P
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Willem Van Boxtel	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Julia Ledet	Science	Alt- Oliver Dasbach	Shea Vela-Vick	Science	Р
Yuwei Li	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Ted Waldron	Business	Р
Kenneth Lopata	Science	P	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	Р
Donald Lund	Business	P	Jian Xu	Engineering	Р
Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	P	Jun Zou	Art and Design	Р

Guests

Name	Affiliation	Attendance
Keetha Arbuthnot	Grad/ODSA	P
Kayla Kucharchuk	EMSS	P
Danny Barrow	EMSS	P
Ryan Spalt	N/A	P
Leonardo Niola	N/A	P
Carson Wall	N/A	P
Maggie Smith	N/A	P
Angelica Roberts	N/A	P
Felix Anderson	N/A	P
Zane Sutor-Benfield	N/A	P
Arie VandeWaa	CMDA	P
Jackie Bach	OAA	P
Becca Thompson	EMSS	P
Jon Snow	LSU G&G	Р

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:05 pm on November 20, 2024, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Tirone announced alternates and guests. There were no public comments on any agenda items. After a brief interruption, the minutes of the last meeting were adopted as distributed.

In his report, President Tirone discussed: (i) the importance of faculty understanding the principles of academic freedom- as defined by the AAUP's 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure and covered in LSU A&M's Policy Statement 15: Academic Freedom, Free Speech, and Tenure- and how they apply to teaching, research, intramural speech, and extramural speech; (ii) the Administrative Process Improvement Committee (APIC) is working to address concerns regarding operational and administrative processes on campus; (iii) Parking & Transportation Services will be communicating with faculty who will be affected by changes to parking due to construction of the new library and, eventually, the campus mobility plan; (iv) The Office of Academic Affairs and the Learning & Teaching Collaborative are hosting, with Campus Federal Credit United as sponsor, this year's LSU faculty colloquium. "Go Somewhere: Reimagining Technology in Education for a Better Tomorrow" is scheduled for January 10th, 2025; (v) the Burden Museum & Gardens announce the inaugural event of Louisiana Lights, which will run from Nov 29-Dec 29.

New Business

There was no new business.

Presentations

President Tirone then introduced Inessa Bazayev, Faculty Senate Past-President, who gave the annual report of the Student Achievement Committee. Her introduction of this joint committee and it's charge (to share and address issues of the campus community that involve student achievement) was followed by three presentations from its members: (i) Danny Barrow, Vice President for Enrollment Management & Student Success, gave an update on Enrollment Management & Student Success, with emphasis on gains in student recruitment and retention, as well as opportunities for improvement; (ii) Keena Arbuthnot, Vice President and Chief Data Officer, gave an overview of the Office of Data and Strategic Analytics, and encouraged faculty to look for the soon-to-be-available data dashboards available on their website to become better versed in how data is (and can be) used on campus; (iii) Brandon Common, Vice President for Student Affairs, gave an update on this semester's trends and updates from Student Affairs; he described several successful programs to assist students in both academic and personal pursuits, and also reported some areas of concern, namely in student mental and emotional well-being, and academic misconduct. A short Q&A followed each presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:27 pm following a motion by Baumgartner. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michelle Osborn, Secretary